Introduction To Juicing

Posted on Updated on

Okay, I’m sure by this point, you know all about juicing, right? I mean it’s everywhere, and just about everyone has done it. But in case you haven’t known if you should jump in, I have a few notes and introductory how-to’s to get you started.

Okay, let’s get started =)

Types of Juicers:
So there’s essential two kinds of juicers that you can find. One is ideal for chunky, whole vegetables such as apples, carrots, and celery, albeit does well with softer fruits such as strawberries and watermelon. This is the kind I have and you can find it here. However if you’re looking for a step up, this is probably where you want to go. We didn’t actually buy ours, a friend of my husbands gave it to us so I won’t tell you it’s the one I would choose, but you work with what you’ve got (also I’ll talk more about it later). As a whole these types of juicers can be semi-inexpensive, which is nice if you’re not wanting to invest yet. Does a decent job on soft and hard vegetables and fruits. You’re gonna go through a lot of greens, which is really what you’re going to want to juice because they’re packed with so many vitamins and minerals. And the filter can get clogged pretty easily, which is a pain.

The second kind is ideal for juicing greens and smaller fruits and vegetables, as it has a process that masticates and crushes, which is perfect for leafy greens that do not contain much liquid. These tend to be on the more expensive side so I would suggest some experimenting before making such a commitment. That being said, I have used this one and it works very well, but keep in mind the process is much longer if you’re juicing larger quantities. The motor gets burnt out relatively quickly and you have to turn it off and let it sit for a few minutes.

(Also, there are citrus juicers, but we’re not really talking about that right now…)

Now, if we’re being honest, both kinds of juicers are going to do what you want them to. Also, things will be messy, you’ll have to wash your hands a lot, and you’re going to spend a lot of time washing, prepping and cleaning up. This is a labor of love, and you can’t get around that. Also, spoiler alert: chances are, the juice you make isn’t going to look like what you see on Instagram. If you’re wanting to do this for any reason other than health reasons, you’ll probably be disappointed and might really regret spending the money.

SO, with all that being said, I’m going to just jump into a little step by step of how I juice.

IMG_0141

You’re going to want to go easy on the fruit, and I know that’s probably half of what you were looking forward to but the sugar from fruit juice is crazy, and doesn’t really do you any favors. If you want to sweeten your juice then I recommend using very minimal amounts of fruit. Also, when you juice greens, be aware that they will probably taste a little bitter.
Most of this is common sense. You can’t expect a glass of juice made from spinach, broccoli and lemons to taste like a donut. But! If you mix your flavors right, I really don’t think you’ll care. The point of juicing (in my very unprofessional opinion) is to cleanse your body, and also give it some extra vitamins and minerals.

Now the crappy part. If you consume more than one glass on a daily basis, your body is probably going to go into detox mode. Which means you will be excreting a whole lotta waste. Be prepared. Don’t pick up a juice cleanse the day you start a new job. You’re probably gonna be gassy as well, lucky you 😁.

I’ve included some pictures below to show some ratios of how much produce rears how much juice. There really isn’t a formula because it all depends on your tastes and what you’re wanting to accomplish.
As always if you have any questions, please comment and let me know. I’m no expert but I’ve done a whole lot of juicing in my life and I can maybe help you out.

 

IMG_0138

This is what I started off with. Apples, a lemon, carrots, greens (I usually use spinach, but the market had this, and though I have no idea what it is, it was tasty), celery, and mangosteens. So as you can tell, I do have some sweet things, some lemons to boost your metabolism, carrots are packed with vitamins, celery has a high water content, and I don’t know a lot about mangosteens other than they’re really delicious, not too sweet, and I had never had them so I bought a bunch. This is how I prepped everything before I juiced it. This is the exact amount that I juiced.

 

IMG_0144

Now your juice will pour out of a spout, and I always fill up a 2 cup measuring cup because that’s the easiest for pouring. Also if you want a little less pulp in your juice you can strain it like what’s being shown above. But it doesn’t really make that much of a difference.

 

Now if you see juice start to leak out the sides like this, you’re going to want to stop whatever you’re juicing, and take your juicer apart. Sometimes these guys work so hard that they get clogged up with pulp and the juice can’t pass through the spout. It’s not an issue though, you’re just gonna give it a quick rinse. You see all that build up of pulp? Some people save it and use it for bread, crackers, or put it in other goodies. I haven’t gotten too much into that but YouTube has a plethora of informative videos you can watch.

 

IMG_0163So after I cleaned everything up, and finished, this is how much juice I was left with. So that’s a pretty decent amount, but keep in mind I used a lot of vegetables with lots of water in them, so that’s going to definitely affect how much juice you’re going to make.

Just a sidenote before I get out of here, all of your juice will separate. Because it’s natural and that’s how it works. So don’t be alarmed, just give it a nice shake.

 

Happy Juicing!

 

Leave a Reply

