hello? it’s me.

Posted on Updated on


Excuse my (very long) absence. It feels like so much has been going on but in reality it has been just a lot of waiting, wishing, hoping and praying that so much will happen.

So, Phillip isn’t in the Army anymore. He fulfilled his contract and we are now waiting on the FAA to figure out exactly where we will put down roots next. For anyone who doesn’t know, Phil is an Air Traffic Controller. They’re actually the guys (and ladies) who talk to pilots all day, telling them exactly how to get from point a to point b without colliding. (Not the guys who wave orange things, and please never think that again)
*pause to play with cat.

So we finished our time in Korea and with a little stress, and more than a little heartbreak we returned home to the States. Despite being such a difficult season, we fell in love with Korea so dearly and if our family lived a little closer, we could have spent so many more years there. But, with that being said, I suppose we couldn’t have left without having a couple hiccups. Such as (hold onto your bottoms) :

  • Uprooting our beloved kitten, who was going into heat what seemed like every other week. She didn’t sleep or eat for more than 24 hours on our journey home and the babe was a wreck by the time we finally reached land.
  • Friendships being put on hold, or ending… Military life is great for so many things but doesn’t always bring out the best in people. It’s EXTREMELY hard to make friends and keep them when someone will be moving in an undetermined amount of time. And it shouldn’t be like that. Women should have courage to stay in touch even with distance between them, and plenty do. But you can’t hold it against the ones who need stability. Especially living in another country. Albeit, it hurts like hell and something I wouldn’t wish on anyone ever.
  • Literally having no idea when we will get paid again. This was one thing that really tried to get to us. Finances are something that are difficult for everyone, and we spent MONTHS planning and saving so we would be okay if we didn’t have a job for awhile. Budgets are freaking hard, people. But even now we are making a huge effort to stay on the same page and keep ourselves accountable and wise with our money. And Phil has blown me away with how responsible AND fun he can be. He is always looking out for our family and praying that God will bless us and it has helped me so much because, ha, you see a big number in the bank account and it’s SO hard not to feel like, “who’s ballin’? WE ballin’!!”. But #responsibility cause yeah.

We got back to the States and I felt like I got hit in the knee with a brick. Of course it was wonderful to be home, but there are so many things I didn’t have to think about while Phil and I were across the world. You obviously can’t stuff away things and have to deal with them.. right? Cause if you don’t have to, someone please for the love let me know because I would LOVE to never think about some of these things again. If I’m being honest, I feel like a little chicken that someone left in the oven too long. I feel dry, tasteless and overcooked. That is partly due to the fact that I’ve worn all the clothes I packed and I feel uninspired not to have my own kitchen and I feel like I’m trying to make myself be this certain person that maybe people want to see me as… but really I want to crawl into my own suitcase and ship myself to the corner of happy and healthy. Just kidding, but Walgreens really is bae. Just kidding, I’m impartial to it.

I suppose this is one of those seasons that I’ll look back on and realize how much God was doing in my heart without my knowing. I’ll marvel at how awesome He is and how gracious He is with my being human all the time. I will be thankful and amazed with how much more He has given me.

Anyway, this was supposed to be a quick update but as usual I’ve had too much coffee and that’s gotten me carried away. Thanks as always for listening to my rambling. Love you all ❀️

2 thoughts on “hello? it’s me.

    Just a Mama said:
    September 14, 2016 at 11:54 am

    God bless you as your life unfolds. He does exceedingly abundantly above anything we could ever ask for. Be who you are called to be and don’t worry if you don’t meet others’ expectations. You are just a girl, but you are God’s girl.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

